It's All About the Words by Claire Holden
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden Podcast
Our Substack Story #7: summer reflections
5
0:00
-51:06

Our Substack Story #7: summer reflections

5

We’re back!

and I took a podcast break last month and this episode of Our Substack Story sees us reflecting on the time away and sharing our thoughts on how our summer revelations will shape our writing here as we go forward.

It was, as ever, a joy to chat again and to discover that we’re both bringing a very similar mindset to this new season of our writing journeys—less is more.

I’m on a mission to cut out the relentless external noise to give me the creative headspace I've been looking for; Helen is ready to narrow the focus and believe in her words rather than diluting them with time spent chasing the ‘shiny shoulds’.

Two women, one word—clarity.


has started to unpack her big summer lightbulb moment in her recent Substack newsletters and YouTube video:

THE RED FERN 🌿 By Helen Redfern
Do You Feel Your Writing is Enough?
It had just gone midnight last Friday morning when my mind was blown. Blown, astounded and with the realisation that I’d never see things the way I used to ever again. You know that emoji with wide, white eyes, with its face in its hands and a wild silent scream? Well, that’s how I’ve looked ever since…
Read more
THE RED FERN 🌿 By Helen Redfern
Believing that my writing is enough.
In the last six months, I believe I’ve talked quite a bit about the changes that I’d like to make here on my Substack. But actually, I think it’s only been two or three times. Despite this reality, I feel a bit embarrassed. When my brain checks in with my feelings I know there’s nothing to be embarrassed about but, even so, there’s that shifting feeling …
Read more

And I recently eased myself back into writing for Substack with a little reflection of my own, looking back at favourite newsletters and considering what I’ve learned from all I’ve shared here so far:


If you’re new to our podcast, you can find all previous episodes here. We’ve been discussing all things Substack since the start of the year, and it’s fascinating and heartening to see how much we’ve learned and shifted as the year has gone on.


5 Comments
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden Podcast
Sharing thoughts and sparking discussions about books, TV, film, writing, life ... and the way they all beautifully interconnect. Reading, writing––it's all about the words.