It's All About the Words by Claire Holden
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden Podcast
Our Substack Story #6: June reflections
15
0:00
-1:02:40

Our Substack Story #6: June reflections

15

Me: Oh I definitely won’t have anything to talk about on our podcast this month. I’ve taken a step back from Substack.

Also me: [chatters happily away with

for 63 minutes about our month on Substack]


Here we are again, sharing Our Substack Story, reflecting on how June has unfolded.

Helen is revving up, while I am slowing down, both leaning into what feels right right now.

Now deep in the season of ‘parenting as an endurance sport’ as we approach the end of the school year (when counterintuitively the activities and requirements ramp up rather than taper off), my mid-June decision to pause paid subscriptions and ease the writing pressure was absolutely the right one.

Last week I lost my fountain pen—talk about a clear sign that it’s time for input over output. So for now, I’m thoroughly enjoying filling the well—diving deep into interconnected reading and watching (and even visiting!), and I can’t wait to share it all when the words are ready.

If you’re new to our podcast, you can find all previous episodes here. It’s been a fantastic and fascinating six months for us both, and in our next episode we’re planning on reviewing ‘the story so far’.

Finally, I wanted to say a huge hurrah for my podcast partner Helen, who (after we’d recorded this) ended a brilliant month by having her anniversary essay shared in the

email about milestone posts. Super proud of you!

THE RED FERN 🌿 By Helen Redfern
Anniversary Essay: One Year of Behind-the-Scenes from My Substack
With my lack of confidence and fears and imposter syndrome and all that jazz being the way they are - consistently turning up on a project for one year has to be something to celebrate. Especially so when the mental challenges were quite tough at times…
Read more
On Substack
How to write a great milestone post
A milestone post ideally serves as both a manifesto and marketing. It’s an opportunity to reflect on your journey on Substack and put forward your vision for the future. Plus, writing a milestone post can encourage sharing and generate new subscriptions and upgrades to paid…
Read more

15 Comments
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden Podcast
Sharing thoughts and sparking discussions about books, TV, film, writing, life ... and the way they all beautifully interconnect. Reading, writing––it's all about the words.