It's All About the Words by Claire Holden
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden Podcast
Our Substack Story #3: March reflections
23
0:00
-58:13

Our Substack Story #3: March reflections

23

The end of another month, and Helen Redfern and I are back with Our Substack Story podcast to share our March ups and downs, experiences and reflections.

I know I’ve not made a big deal out of it or anything (insert eye roll here, see Not This Week, WTW#9), but I’m still trying to shake off a nasty virus, so I apologise to Helen for making her editing work harder than usual (if we had such a thing as a blooper reel, we would have provided it with extensive content this month), and I apologise to you that it’s apparently not the sort of cold that makes me sound like Mariella Frostrup—a disappointment for us all.

I sat with a cup of tea before we recorded this to make some notes, to consider and reflect on all that’s happened across a single month, and I find that process, which is then amplified by the discussion with Helen, incredibly helpful. It’s all interesting information I can learn from, and taking the time to do that will help me get the most out of my Substack journey.

Lots of juicy conversation topics, as ever. We dig into subscriber numbers and our feelings about them, Helen’s relaunch, marketing, paid subscriber content, consistency and what that means if you’re ill (who me?), need a break (mmm hmm) or want a holiday (yep, still me).

In fact, this very post is actioning one of our discussion points and you’re receiving the podcast on a Friday morning because yet again I accept that I’m just not well enough to write a deep-dive newsletter this week. (Repeat after me) I can be a consistent Substacker AND allow myself to be ill.

If you’re new to Our Substack Story, previous episodes can be found here.

Let us know how you’ve found this month in the comments below—did you meet your goals, if you had any? Have you got any thoughts about shifts you want to make in April?


23 Comments
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden
It's All About the Words by Claire Holden Podcast
Sharing thoughts and sparking discussions about books, TV, film, writing, life ... and the way they all beautifully interconnect. Reading, writing––it's all about the words.